IN THE AMERICAN DREAM By Dennis John Ferado

In The American Dream
(runaway’s note)

“Confusion surrounds me in this atmosphere
I attempt to untangle fill up with fear
if I can’t get my life high up on the hill
well I think I might bend to some other will

“Drug dealers all over they won’t go away
They’ve got the playgrounds there’s no place to play
children are murdered you can hear them scream
Used and beaten in the American dream

“Visions of doubt and shadowy fears
Shoot through my mind on an ache and a tear
Mamma’s back home drinking in bed
Daddy’s long gone he took drugs instead

“America’s children are in a real bind
Raped and abused then given drugs for the mind
They say follow a rainbow through fields of green
There are no nightmares in the American dream”

Copyright by Dennis John Ferado.
Artwork from side of building on Houston St in NYC.
Artist Unknown. Building has been torn down.

Leave a comment