Rescued durian picker: I ate leaves and drank rainwater while waiting for help

Kopitiam Bot

(Source: www.straitstimes.com)

SINGAPORE (THE NEW PAPER) – He was lost in the jungle at Tengah for four days after picking durians.

But nothing will stop Mr Low Ah Kay, 57, from continuing to look for the fruit he loves.

The retired taxi driver told The New Paper from his flat in Jurong on Monday (July 17): “After I recover from my injuries, I will go again during the durian season.”

Mr Low recounted how he ate leaves and drank rainwater during the four days that he sat in a ditch which he had fallen into, waiting for help to arrive.

“When I go in the forest, I usually sit down somewhere to wait for durians to fall from the trees and I pick them up,” he said.

“On that day, I found somewhere to sit and wait, but I fell into a ditch. I could not stand…

View original post 349 more words

Leave a Reply

